4th International Convention on Tourism Studies

4th International Convention on Tourism Studies
Barceló Solymar Hotel, Varadero, Cuba, 28 to October 31, 2018

October 28 to 31
Varadero, Cuba



1.- Call

CIETCUBA conventions on tourism studies have been developed in 2010, 2012, and 2016 and now it is the celebration of CIETCUBA 2018.
In this year 2018 the 290th Anniversary of the University of Havana is celebrated, the 40th Anniversary of the beginning of the university studies of Tourism in Cuba (in the University of Matanzas) and the 10th Anniversary of the creation of the Faculty of Tourism of the University of Havana.
CIETCUBA 2018 will be held in Varadero, between October 28 and 31, 2018.
To participate in the event, the payment of registration fee is not required. Accommodation will be mandatory in the place selected for the event.

2.- Themes

• Territorial tourism management and development: sustainability and innovation
• Applications of information technologies to tourism management to increase competitiveness.
• Sustainable, competitive and innovative methods and techniques in the management of hospitality companies in the short, medium and long terms
• Measurement of tourism impacts.
• Meeting management and its competitiveness
• Higher education in tourism, travel and hospitality.

Special workshop on:
"Culture and Tourism"
“Tourism in the Caribbean”
“Tourism and Health”
“Relations between public sector and private sector in the development of tourism in Cuba”

3.- Committees

Organizing Committee:
President: Dr. Ramón Martín Fernández
Vice President: Dr. Alejandro Delgado Castro
Coordinator: MSc.Daikel Abreu Rodríguez

Scientific Comittee:
President: Dr. Lisandra Torres Hechavarría
Secretary: Dr. Clemente Hugo Ramírez
Member: Dr. Carlos Martínez Martínez

4.- Relevant speakers

Arq. Manuel Marrero, Minister of Tourism (pending confirmation)
Dr. Luis Valdés Peláez, University of Oviedo
Dr. Rosa Aza Conejo, University of Oviedo
Dr. Ramón Martín Fernández, University of Havana

5.- Call to present papers

Presentation of papers: until September 22, by email to the Chair of the Scientific Committee (lisandra_torres@ftur.uh.cu).
The papers will be evaluated between September 24 and 29. The Scientific Committee will send a communication of the papers accepted or rejected on or before September 29.
All papers will be evaluated by peers integrated by Scientific Committee and editors of the “Retos Turísticos” journal. All papers accepted will be published on a special edition of this journal. Besides, the participants will receive a CD with this edition of “Retos Turísticos” journal with the name “CIETCUBA 2018 “40th Anniversary of the university studies of Tourism in Cuba”
Interested parties may participate without presentation of papers.

6.- Instructions to the authors

In the attached you may find the published rules of “Retos Turísticos” journal. These one will be the format of presentations for papers.
Oral presentation:
Presentations can be used in PPT, PPTX and PDF formats. The slides should be brief in text and clear in visuals, so that they help the speaker in his speech. Do not put long texts or excessive amount of figures that, while saving on the number of slides, prevent better understanding by the audience. Each speaker will have 15 minutes to make his presentation and, after several presentations and taking into account its content, there will be a joint debate.

7.- General Program

Sunday, October 28:
• Throughout the day: Arrival and accommodation of participants
• 7:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.: Opening ceremony of CIETCUBA, dedicated to the 40th anniversary of the beginning of university studies of tourism in Cuba
• 20:30 - 22:00: Dinner at the hotel with the guests at the opening ceremony

Monday, October 29:
• 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 a.m.: Lectures
• 12:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.: Lunch break
• 14:00 to 17:30: Work of two committees

Tuesday, October 30:
• 9:00 to 12:30: Work in two committees
• 12:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.: Lunch break
• 14:00 to 17:30: Work of two committees

Wednesday, October 31:
• 9:00 to 10:30: Work in two committees
• 11:00 to 12:00: Reports of the committes and conclusions of the event
• 12:00 to 12:30: Delivery of the rooms (check out)
• 12:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.: Lunch break
• Departure to places of origin of the delegates

8.- Sponsor and supporter

• Ministry of Higher Education
• Ministry of Tourism
• University of Havana
• University of Matanzas
• Higher Business Management Organizations (OSDE)
• Hanns Seidel Foundation, Germany

10.- Registration and payments

The registration should be made filling the form you may see at your right in this website.
If you will participate without paper, you may do the registration from August 20th to September 29th and if you will be participate as speaker you may do the registration from September 29th to October 6th, after receive the acceptance from the Scientific Committee.
After the registration, the pre-invoice will be send to you to make the payment. The payment should be done by wire banking transfer until or by October 14th. You will receive the information of the banking account on the invoice.

10.- Important dates

• August 20th to September 29th: registration as a participant without paper
• Until September 22nd: submission of papers
• September 29th: acceptance or rejection of papers
• October 6th: registration as a speaker
• October 15th: deadline for payments

11.- Contacts

Ramón Martín: ramon_martin@ftur.uh.cu
Alejandro Delgado: alejandro_delgado@ftur.uh.cu
Lisandra Torres: lisandra_torres@ftur.uh.cu

Other Events

Economics and Management Networks
  • November 15 to 17

  • Havana city
  • November 19 to 24
  • Havana city
To book